Skip to content

521- Introduction and Self Portrait

August 30, 2011

Our first assignment for EdTech 521 was to introduce ourselves and create a self portrait–then explain how it represents us.  My post for this assignment is below.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Hello! My name is Jennifer Anderson. The last two years I taught High School Biology in Wyoming. I resigned this Spring, started my masters this summer, got married in August, moved to Laramie, Wyoming and now I am continuing work on my masters and looking for a position working with students and technology. I feel I am very resourceful with technology and I am a very quick learner. I have grown up using a computer since I was in 5th grade so I feel like it comes fairly easy to me. I have taken multiple computer, smartboard, and other technology courses–but I feel I have a lot to learn about the tools available to educators on the web.

I was raised in Alaska, which I loved and I recommend everyone to go see it because it is larger than life. I love the outdoors and sports–fishing, hiking, camping, snowboarding, volleyball, soccer, basketball,etc. I also enjoy coaching and am rather competitive with board games smile.

I don’t have many creative applications or software programs on my computer so I decided to make a collage from some pictures that I have taken. I think they show the past, present, and future me, and many things that I love and make who I am.  I feel the collage really describes who I am and what I love in life. Though it is not just a s

Self portrait–I think it describes me very well. First of all, all but two of the pictures are my own–which I took at some time. Though I am not great at it, I love photography. Next there is a volleyball picture–this represents my competitiveness and love for volleyball. I played in college and at that time in my life volleyball really represented who I was, so that was more of my past. As a biology teacher, I LOVE LIFE. All living creatures interest me and I love to both study and teach about them. There are pictures of sea lions, butterflies, octopus, and large trees–which happen to be some of my favorite things to study. There is also a “living roof” which was at the San Francisco Academy of Science–showing that I am a science and museum nerd. Biology has been my present area of study and focus. Next, there is a picture of a keyboard–this represents my love for technology and shows what I hope to do in the future. Lastly, the picture in the center is of myself and my new husband, he is someone I love and cannot see myself without so he is also part of my future.
Hopefully this wasn’t too cheesy. I think I got a little carried away, but I enjoyed making the collage and telling you about me and the things I love.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

